Tuesday, April 05, 2005

A trip back in time... to 2003 award winners

My Google Alert on the phrase "online journalism" threw up this result today: The NetMedia 2003 | EOJ Awards 2003 winners:
"Barcelona, 3 July: War and peace and corporate corruption and greed were the two stand-out story themes in the shortlists for the 2003 European Online Journalism awards, and eight of the winning entries featured one of these themes.
"For the second year running, journalists from BBC News Online have dominated the proceedings, winning eight of the 21 prizes on offer.
The most coveted prize, the Internet Journalist of the Year, went to Vincent Landon, science correspondent of Swiss Radio International for his contribution to 'The malaria business, a remarkable investigation of a largely neglected story – the devastating impact of malaria on the health of children in developing countries.
Best Overall Journalism Service went to Lamalla.net, the news and current affairs portal for the Barcelona region.
Transitions Online, the Prague-based online news magazine which covers the post-communist region of Eastern and Central Europe, the Balkans and the former Soviet Union, won the Best Innovation in Online Journalism category.
The Best Use of Multimedia award went to two journalism students from the Danish School of Journalism, the first time student journalists have won any of the prizes.
Dr David Whitehouse, the BBC's science correspondent, winner of the Best News Story Broken on the Net category, has now won awards for four years running. The Outstanding contribution to online journalism in Europe award went to Mike Smartt, editor-in-chief of BBC News Interactive."


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home